Risorse per Jammers

List maintained by Ciro Continisio (GGJ Rome)

Resources listed here are generally free, though some have paid plans for extra features.

 

Tools

Modeling – http://blender.org

Open Source Tool for Storytelling – http://twinery.org/

Openframeworks – C++ toolkit – http://www.openframeworks.cc/

Color Scheme Designer – http://colorschemedesigner.com/

Sound editing – http://audacity.sf.net/

Music – http://lmms.sf.net/

More Music – http://boscaceoil.net/

Vector/Scalar Image & 2D Graphics

GIMP / FOSS Photoshop –  http://gimp.org,

Get Paint : http://www.getpaint.net/

2D Tile Map Editor – http://www.mapeditor.org/

Texture Packer – http://www.codeandweb.com/texturepacker

Color Oracle – Color blindness testing – http://colororacle.org

Inkscape – SVG Vector drawing tool- http://inkscape.org/

Krita – https://krita.org/

Aseprite – http://www.aseprite.org/

Pixlr – http://pixlr.com/editor/

Piskel (Online Pixelart & Sprite Editor) – http://www.piskelapp.com/

Shoebox – http://renderhjs.net/shoebox/

2D Sprite Sketchpad – https://goo.gl/drj1Xd

Source Control

Mercurial SCM (software only) – http://mercurial.selenic.com

Git (software only) – http://git-scm.com

GitHub (software and hosting) – https://github.com

Bitbucket (mercurial and git, hosting only) – https://bitbucket.org

Sourcetree (nice visual gui software for git and mercurial): http://www.sourcetreeapp.com/

GitExtensions (similar to Sourcetree, but all FOSS): https://code.google.com/p/gitextensions/

IDEs

Eclipse – http://www.eclipse.org/

Visual Studio Community 2015 – https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/products/visual-studio-community-vs.aspx

Monodevelop – http://monodevelop.com/

IntelliJ – http://www.jetbrains.com/idea/

Komodo Edit – http://www.activestate.com/komodo-edit

Engines

Unity 3D – http://unity3d.com

Unreal Development Kit – http://unrealengine.com/udk

Unreal Engine 4 – https://www.unrealengine.com/what-is-unreal-engine-4

Cry Engine SDK – http://cryengine.com

GameMaker – http://yoyogames.com

GameSalad – http://gamesalad.com

Godot – http://www.godotengine.org

Construct 2 – https://www.scirra.com/construct2

Stencyl – http://www.stencyl.com/

Ren’Py – http://www.renpy.org/

IRRLicht – http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/

Project Anarchy – http://www.projectanarchy.com/

Phaser – http://phaser.io

Love2D – https://love2d.org/‎

Gamesonomy – http://www.gamesonomy.com/

Scratch – https://scratch.mit.edu/

Twine – http://twinery.org/

Defold – http://www.defold.com/defold/

Inkle Writer – http://www.inklestudios.com/inklewriter/

Adventure Game Studio – http://www.adventuregamestudio.co.uk/

Unity Packages

Fungus – Package which is great for building narrative in Unity3D – http://fungusgames.com/

ProBuilder Basic – BSP style level editing tools for Unit3D – http://www.protoolsforunity3d.com/probuilder/

 

Audio

Irrklang – http://www.ambiera.com/irrklang/

Sound Effects – access to 5000+ sound effects in Soundly during GGJ:  http://www.asoundeffect.com/global-game-jam-sound-effects/

Sound Effects – http://bfxr.net;

Audacity – Audio / Recording / Music – http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Procedural Music – http://abundant-music.com (Needs a Midi Renderer)

SynthFont – http://www.synthfont.com (Midi Renderer)

GXSCC – http://www.geocities.co.jp/SiliconValley-SanJose/8700/P/GsorigE.htm (Midi Renderer)

Chip Tune Creator – http://www.beepbox.co

Milkytracker – http://www.milkytracker.org

BFXR Sound Effect Generator – http://www.bfxr.net/

ChipTone (BFXR’s big brother) – http://sfbgames.com/chiptone/?s=eNpjYOIwNdnPwGARyAAG9Q1AQoHnjLERz5n6__b_GYyNIII-Z1DpyBnYxdXSoIawrwNqnQhkAA0Bi8BoIgQYUPkwM2F21v8HQfn_QD4AHocxQA..

Audio Tracker – http://ludumdare.com/compo/2011/12/13/if-you-find-it-hard-to-make-music-read-this/

 

HTML5 / Javascript

Listing – http://html5gameengine.com/

Game Closure – http://www.gameclosure.com/

Canvas Engine – http://canvasengine.net/

List of HTML5 / Javascript engines http://html5gameengine.com/

CreateJS (HTML5/Javascript libraries – preloading, audio, canvas, tween) – http://createjs.com/#!/CreateJS

Box2D (javascript 2d physics library) – http://box2d-js.sourceforge.net/

Javascript 3D toolkit: http://jeromeetienne.github.io/tquery/

Phase – http://phaser.io/

Cocos2D HTML5 – http://www.cocos2d-x.org/download

Frameworks

XNA (C#) – http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=23714

MonoGame (Open source version of XNA, actively maintained) – http://monogame.net/

Processing (Java) – http://processing.org/

Ogre3D (3D rendering engine) – http://www.ogre3d.org/

OpenFL (Flash-like crossplatform API) – http://www.openfl.org/

Box2D (2d physics library) – http://box2d.org/
HaxeFlixel (Haxe) – http://www.haxeflixel.com

SDL (cross platform API for C/C++) – http://www.libsdl.org/index.php

Love2D (Lua) – http://love2d.org

Assets

Everything – http://opengameart.org – most models in Blender format

3D Models

3D Models – http://turboSquid.com    http://www.blendswap.com/

3D Models, Textures – https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com

Textures / 2D Art

Textures – http://www.cgtextures.com

Textures – http://www.openfootage.net

2D sprites and Flash backgrounds – http://glitchthegame.com/public-domain-game-art/

2D art: http://lunar.lostgarden.com/labels/free%20game%20graphics.html

2D art list – http://bit.ly/18avkmQ

 

Audio

Music (and graph paper!!) – http://incompetech.com

Music – http://www.newgrounds.com/audio

Sound Effects – http://freesfx.co.uk

Sound Effects – http://soundbible.com

Sound Effects – http://freesound.org/

The Open Bundle (Music, 2D assets) – http://open.commonly.cc/

Fonts

Fonts – http://www.1001freefonts.com

Fonts – http://www.fontriver.com

Fonts – http://www.1001fonts.com

Fonts – http://www.fontsquirrel.com

Fonts – http://www.iconian.com
Google Fonts – http://www.google.com/fonts

Da Font – http://dafont.com/

 

Public Domain

New York Public Library – http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/
NASA Audio Library – https://archive.org/details/nasaaudiocollection  

SDKs

Made with Marmalade: https://www.madewithmarmalade.com/

Murl Engine (cross platform C++ framework) – http://murlengine.com/

Appcelerator: http://www.appcelerator.com/developers/

Board games

Board game tools – http://www.rptools.net/

FabLab tools – http://fab.cba.mit.edu/content/tools/

Task Management Tools

Graphical

Trello project management, general bucket list, collect screenshots, vote on features

Murally is a pinboard that connects to google drive and evernote

Realtime Board pinboard

Mindmeister mindmapping

Lucidchart, Cacoo for diagrams and flow charts

Text-based

Collabedit is a text editor / chat hybrid with simple syntax highlighting, easy to share

Workflowy – Collaborative list editor, useful for organizing tasks into lists and prioritize them

Editorially is a versioned, collaborative markdown text editor that has nice export formats

Fargo is a nice outliner / notepad

Miscellaneous

Procedural terrain tool for Unity3D: http://code.google.com/p/unityterraintoolkit/downloads/list

PixelProspector’s gamedev big lists: http://www.pixelprospector.com/indie-resources/

GIFCam – Free recorder that outputs optimized GIFs

EZGif – Online GIF animation editor and maker

JSFiddle colaborative tool for web projects

Github Gists collection of useful scripts

Open Broadcaster Software – Cross Platform Streaming/Screen Capture – https://obsproject.com/